Suitcase Diaries

Walking around, I naturally begin to remember the way things were and my mind starts to turn. I find myself looking through shop windows, standing in the exact same patch of sidewalk where I was a couple of months ago. I can’t help but think about how I was then and how I am now.

A couple of months? That’s nothing. I somehow feel different. A little older, a little more aware, but still a little scared and definitely naïve. Clearly, I’m not from here.

I try to recall the features of people’s faces mere seconds after they pass by, but everything is blurred and inaccurate. This place is subdued and lonely despite the constant flow of automobiles and people.

Big ants, little ants. 

Despite the underlying melancholy, I don’t feel sad. Surprisingly, I feel refreshed! Everything and everyone is unfamiliar. I am in a city where I know no one and where no one knows me. It’s a free sort of feeling that I know won’t last.  For now, I’m enjoying the anonymity.

!!!

In the past year I’ve lived in three very different places – Mainland China, Taiwan, and now Hong Kong. In an attempt to document my experiences, opinions, observations, this is a taste of what my suitcase and I have gone through and what we are about to face. Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

